About Us

Our Purpose and Mission


The Rhode Island Chapter #33 of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (“RICFE”) is a not-for-profit entity organized for the primary purpose of promotion of fraud deterrence and detection, and the fostering of skills in the disciplines of accounting, auditing, criminology, investigation, law, and ethics.


The mission of the RICFE is to promote the education of individuals for the improvement and development of their capabilities relating to the investigation of potential fraud and illegal acts, auditing of and management consulting in the fields of fraud detection, auditing, and investigations, through the expansion of knowledge and the interaction of its members.

About the Rhode Island Chapter

The RICFE was started in 1992 and is one of more than 200 ACFE chapters located in 125 countries around the world. Our chapter membership consists approximately 100 members, with 85 Certified Fraud Examiners and Associate Members, 11 Affiliates, and 10 Students. Chapter training events are held quarterly with an annual meeting at our September meeting.

About the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners

The ACFE is the world’s largest anti-fraud organization and premier provider of anti-fraud training and education. Together with more than 80,000 members, the ACFE is reducing business fraud world-wide and inspiring public confidence in the integrity and objectivity within the profession.

The ACFE offers its members the unique opportunity for professional certification (Certified Fraud Examiner). The Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE) credential is globally preferred by businesses and government entities around the world and indicates expertise in all areas of fraud prevention and detection. CFEs on six continents have investigated more than one million suspected cases of civil and criminal fraud.

Bylaws | Special & Standing Rules (Members Must Login)

The Original Ten

The Rhode Island Chapter started in 1992 by the petition of ten individuals and has been guided then by a succession of dedicated professionals. Annually, we conduct an Excellence Awards program as a tribute to their effort, vision and leadership.

Peter G. Barton Robert F. Huntoon
Stephen M. Cooper+ Thomas J. Korzen
Clifford J. Coutcher John R. Reis
Shirley M. Egan Alan B. Stewart
John F. Fahey Norman F. Tancrell
Past Presidents
1992-95 Steven M. Cooper, CFE+
1995 Jack F. Fahey, CFE, EA
1996 Peter Fogarty, CFE
1997-98 Alan H. Ryder, CFE, CPA
1998-00 Lori A. Tellier, CFE, CPA
2000-02 Steven J. Ursillo, Jr., CFE, CPA, CIA
2002-05 Martha R. McVeigh, CFE
2005-07 Victoria S. Escalera, CFE, CPA, CIA
2007-09 Alan H. Ryder, CFE, CPA
2009-12 Phil Benvenuti, CFE, CIA, FCLS
2012-14 Jared B. Wilbur, CFE, CICA
2014-18 Laura Da Fonseca, CFE, CPA, MST, CDFA, CFF
2018-Present Evan A. Lemoine, CFE, CPA, CGMA, PRP, MBA

+ Deceased