Past Excellence Award Recipients

Each year at the discretion of the board of directors, we honor an individual or individuals who have:

  • Played a significant role in the prevention, detection, or investigation of fraud;
  • Made a substantial recovery or savings due to his or her role in fraud examination;
  • Contributed significantly to the discipline of fraud examination;
  • Developed innovative techniques in the white-collar crime field;
  • Submitted legislation to detect and prevent fraud; or,
  • Educated others in the field of fraud examination.

The Excellence Award is given to thank outstanding individuals for their significant contribution towards meeting the goals of our organization and our profession in the State of Rhode Island.

The board of directors requests members nominate outstanding individuals that they feel are deserving of this excellence awards.

2018 Det. Mark Solomon
2017 Special Agent Matthew Amsden
2016 No Recipient Awarded
2015 Katie Davis
Parker Gavigan
2014 Det. Ernest Adams
Lt. Joseph Hopkins
Det. Michael Ortrando
Det. Richard Ptaszek
Special Agent Jon Ringel
Janet Viano-Vessella
2013 Richard G. Fondi
2012 Jack Costa
Dan Murphy
2011 Martha McVeigh, CFE
H. Chris Der Vartanian, CPA
2010 Det. Sgt. Killian
2009 Michael Stanton
2008 Det. Marcos Saenko (Ret.)
2007 Luis M. Matos
2006 Philip A. Benvenuti, CFE, CIA, FCLS
2005 W. Dennis Aiken
2004 Alan H. Ryder, CFE, CPA
Jeffrey L. Asermely
2003 Clifford J. Coutcher, CFE
2002 Professor Kevin W. Poirier, CPA
Det. Paul Ainsworth
Det. Sgt. Robert E. Avizinis
William R. Guglietta, Esq.
Lori A. Tellier, CPA, CFE